Building an 8-bit image converter

Building an 8-bit image converter

And trying out ChatGPT

It's been a while without coding much. I've been, and still am, looking for a dev job for 5 months and no luck for me (I applied to more than 300+ offers). I lost a bit of motivation and for the last 3-4 weeks I didn't code even a bit.

This changed last week. I tried out for the first time (yes, for the first time) ChatGPT and I loved it! I think it's a great tool and can save you tons of time and headaches if used the right way.

In my case, I built a simple app to convert an image to an 8-bit color image. I'm pretty happy with the result.

The app is really simple. There's an ImageConverter component, a Footer and the convertTo8Bit function. That's it.

I used ChatGPT basically for the function because I wanted it to be plain TS. After a few iterations worked out well. Here's a sneak peek of the function:

For the styling, I used BEM methodology as always (I like to work with it) and I kept the app very user-friendly and easy to use. Just choose your image, see the preview, click generate, see the result and click download. Nothing else.

You can check the site here.

I hope you like it and you find it useful 🥳